How Many American Horror Story Episodes Are There?

Rate this post

If you’re a fan of horror television series, chances are you’ve come across the spine-tingling sensation that is American Horror Story. This popular anthology series has captivated audiences worldwide with its unique storytelling and terrifying plotlines. In this article, we will delve into the depths of American Horror Story and answer one burning question: “How many American Horror Story episodes are there?”

American Horror Story: An Overview

American Horror Story is not your typical TV show. Created by Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk, this anthology series takes viewers on a rollercoaster ride of horror, suspense, and supernatural elements. What sets American Horror Story apart is its format – each season presents a self-contained story with its own characters, settings, and themes. From haunted houses to asylums, covens to freak shows, American Horror Story knows how to keep audiences on the edge of their seats.

American Horror Story Episode Count

Now, let’s get to the heart of the matter – the total number of American Horror Story episodes. As of now, American Horror Story has aired a total of 116 episodes across 9 seasons. With each season offering a unique narrative, fans have been treated to an abundance of horrifying tales to sink their teeth into.

Season-wise Breakdown of American Horror Story

To truly understand the scope of American Horror Story, let’s take a closer look at each season and the number of episodes they bring to the table:

Season 1: Murder House

  • Murder House, the inaugural season of American Horror Story, consists of 12 gripping episodes. Set in a haunted mansion in Los Angeles, this season introduces viewers to a variety of ghosts and supernatural occurrences.
Read More:   American Horror Story Season 3: How Many Episodes Can We Expect?

Season 2: Asylum

  • Asylum takes us deep into the horrors of Briarcliff Mental Institution. With 13 chilling episodes, this season explores themes of madness, possession, and the darkness lurking within humanity.

Season 3: Coven

  • Coven brings witchcraft to the forefront, transporting viewers to New Orleans. This bewitching season encompasses 13 captivating episodes, showcasing the power struggles and magical endeavors of a coven of witches.

Season 4: Freak Show

  • Freak Show shines a spotlight on the dark underbelly of a 1950s carnival. Across 13 mesmerizing episodes, we witness the struggles and secrets of the performers who call the freak show their home.

Season 5: Hotel

  • Hotel takes us into the sinister world of the Hotel Cortez, where supernatural beings and serial killers roam freely. With 12 haunting episodes, this season weaves a tale of terror and addiction.

Season 6: Roanoke

  • Roanoke takes a unique approach, presenting itself as a documentary-style series. In 10 heart-pounding episodes, this season explores the paranormal happenings surrounding the lost colony of Roanoke.

Season 7: Cult

  • Cult delves into the horrors of cult mentality and political extremism. With 11 intense episodes, this season examines the psychological impact of fear and manipulation on society.

Season 8: Apocalypse

  • Apocalypse brings together characters from previous seasons and explores a post-apocalyptic world. This season consists of 10 thrilling episodes, blending familiar faces with a dystopian narrative.

Season 9: 1984

  • 1984 pays homage to classic slasher films, taking viewers on a nostalgic trip to a summer camp. With 9 exhilarating episodes, this season embraces the tropes and thrills of 80s horror.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about American Horror Story

1. What is the average episode duration of American Horror Story?

The average duration of an American Horror Story episode is approximately 42 minutes. However, some episodes may vary slightly in length.

Read More:   Where Can I Publish My Short Story Online: A Comprehensive Guide

2. Are all seasons of American Horror Story connected?

While each season of American Horror Story presents a unique story, they are interconnected through subtle references and shared elements. Some characters and storylines reappear across different seasons, creating an intricate web of connections for avid fans to unravel.

3. Can episodes of American Horror Story be watched as standalone stories?

Yes, one of the fascinating aspects of American Horror Story is that each season can be enjoyed as a standalone story. You can dive into any season without prior knowledge of the others and still have a complete and fulfilling viewing experience.

4. Is there a recommended viewing order for American Horror Story?

As the seasons of American Horror Story are independent narratives, there is no specific viewing order required. You have the freedom to explore the series in any order that piques your interest. However, if you prefer to follow the release order, starting with Season 1 (Murder House) is a great choice.


In conclusion, American Horror Story has thrilled and terrified audiences with its anthology format and captivating storytelling. With a total of 116 episodes spread across 9 seasons, this series offers a multitude of horrifying tales for fans to enjoy. Whether you prefer haunted houses, asylums, or supernatural creatures, American Horror Story has something to send shivers down your spine. So, grab your popcorn, dim the lights, and immerse yourself in the twisted world of American Horror Story – if you dare!

Back to top button